What Does Balance Mean To You?

As you may or may not know, I used to be an overexerciser and calorie obsessed dieter. 

Well, I’m still calorie obsessed but am in no way dieting right now.  I don’t want to get into that “restriction mentality.”

 

Honestly, I want to lose weight.  I don’t want to be as unhealthily thin as I once was, but I do want to be healthier and drop some pounds.

It’s really a battle for me.  I want to allow myself any food that I’m craving and not become a victim of food restriction again.  But that’s what helped me lose weight in the first place! When I ate 1200-1400 calories a day, I lost weight steadily and speedily. 

 

I guess that’s my problem. I want the fast results I’m used to getting.  Now that I’m eating more than that and exercising 3x week (when I used to do 6-7x week for 1+ hours), I’m certainly not losing pounds fast like I used to.

 

Granted, if I exercised more, I’d see results quicker.  I use this excuse…”If I exercise too much, then I’ll end up a chronic overexerciser again.”  I mean, one hour or more a day of exercise every day of the week is definitely possible and even healthy for some people.  For me, it meant ditching friends and family in favor of working out. It meant not listening to my body when it was tired.  It also meant I HAD to burn 600 calories before leaving the gym.  I focused soo much on calories.  It became an obsession.

 It boggles my mind that I’ve been toying with the notion of doing it all over again (ie, restricting calories and overexercising).

I have to be patient.  Progress comes slowly.  Make small goals.

 

My goal for the following week is to exercise 4 days instead of 3.  Baby steps, right?

 

You may be able to tell that I have trouble with balance. It’s either all or nothing.

 

What does balance mean to you? How do you achieve balance?

What kind of goals do you set for yourself?

November 19, 2009. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

